Sunday, Funday, Cold & Wet Day: March 15th, 2015

drip. drop. drip. drop.

It is what I woke to today and what I will eventually fall asleep to.  Seattle rain.  Cold, consistent, expected, but not prepared for.  But before I get too far ahead of myself – this morning I had to stop at Uptown Espresso again – their caramel lattes are really, very much, excellent!  After getting some laundry going and kind of taking stock of our day, we realized we had better get moving for our brunch reservation time of 9am.  *especially* after we saw this:

IMG_3609  IMG_3612

We headed to Toulouse Petit Kitchen (seriously do yourself a favor and check this place out!  http://toulousepetit.com/ ) to meet up with two of my sister’s friends and the Mom of one.  My breakfast:

IMG_3614

I could hardly believe my eyes!!  It was fantastic! After breakfast we headed home for an hour or two to just relax and read. I blogged…  I know BIG surprise there!  Then we decided to cross a few of the “must happen” places off our list.

Even though it was dreary and rainy, we decided to head to the EMP http://www.empmuseum.org/

IMG_3625

I highly recommend this!  Might have been one of the best places for souvenirs I visited!

Due to the cold chilling us straight to the bone, we detoured momentarily at Starbucks. My sister enlightened my world be introducing their *awesome* app!!  Check it out if you frequent Starbucks or if you get a giftcard for there!

Then we headed to my place.  The place I really, really  wanted to check out

{Warning: nerd alert!}

The Seattle Public Library

It

Was…

IMG_3632

From the outside, taken under an umbrella.

IMG_3636 IMG_3637 IMG_3639 IMG_3640

From the entrance.  11 floors people.  THIS is how you do a library!

IMG_3641 IMG_3642

I am fairly certain there were as many people as live in my hometown inside the library while we were there!

IMG_3647 IMG_3649

From the first escalator.

IMG_3651 IMG_3652 IMG_3654 IMG_3657 IMG_3658 IMG_3659 IMG_3661 IMG_3663 IMG_3668

The Red Floor.  It is truly, only red.

As we weren’t entirely ready for dinner, but it was time, we decided to stop at The Brooklyn.

We chose two appetizers and one entree to split among the three of us.

Here is the description of what we ordered right off the menu:

The Brooklyn Crab Cake: garnished with shaved apple and micro green pluche, finished with wasabi aioli.
Peppered Steak Medallions: with king oyster mushroom, stilton blue cheese and port wine jus
and black garlic ponzu emulsion.
Day Boat Scallops: porcini mushroom dusted
with braised painted hills shortribs -served with red bliss potato croquettes and spinach. finished with honey crisp apple, smokey bacon and
cambazola blue cheese butter.

Here is the photograph:

IMG_3671

and it ALL tasted fantastic!

and with that – we decided to end the evening on this most perfect note.  We read, finished laundry, crossed of items from our “to get” and “to do” lists, and then headed to sleep!!

See you in the morning!!

~J.Lyn

Leave a comment