Fieldwork: Feb 18th, 2014 — “Batter up!”

“Batter up!”

 

So today was my day.  I conducted a mini-lesson in my Fieldwork class.  “How to Start a Class Effectively.”  My goal was to lead by example.  I got prior approval to begin the class.  I put on display the recommendations and let me tell you…

 

I was sooooo incredibly nervous!!  I practiced a ridiculous amount for this brief (5-7minute) presentation.  All I kept thinking about was how the start sets the precedent for the rest of the school year and here I am trying to show all of these future educators how to start!

 

No pressure… no pressure… no pressure…

 

PRESSURE!!

 

I was a Professional Trainer for goodness sake!!  I love being in the front of a room!  I love an audience!  Why does it seem that even my train of thought is nervously shaking?!

 

I got comfortable about halfway through after I lost my place and just needed to think about what I wanted them to learn.

 

After all – that is what it is all about.

 

Point taken.  Lesson learned!  Hah!

 

A few things I am gleaning from my fieldwork:

I am hesitant to describe anything of much because I do not ever mean to embarrass anyone (myself included.)  I may end up having to turn the settings to private so that I can write notes in such a way to actually remember them! But for now.

I love feeling like I am helping students.  There are so many moments where I feel I do not have control or I feel that I am not enough or that I can not help.  Silly things that maybe only a parent would notice.  A child walking down the hallway in too tight of pants, another with pants too loose.  A child whose ears haven’t been cleaned properly to the point where you just want to bring along a few q-tips.  Or nails unclipped/uncleaned.  Smells.  Now, as a parent I expected a variety of smells at a Middle School.  I mean – I was once there myself.  All you have to do is think – School Lunch Room.  Now think – Middle School Locker Room.  and there you have it.

But there are some things you just can not prepare for.  The anger that threatens to consume you when a child smells as though water is not a commodity accessed with the turn of a faucet.  Worse, the brimming emotion when a Middle school student cannot spell American.  As an adult I have heard of Educators blaming parents for a child’s situation/attitude/behavior.  I have heard Parents frustrated with Educators.  Come to think of it after *almost* twenty years of adulthood, I think it would be easier to name the situations where responsibility was taken instead of passed off.

 

I want to remember this – – >  because it is crucial to my own teaching philosophy.  I want to remember to take responsibility.  I need to remember for any excuse, any passed blame – there is an opportunity to pick up that baton and be a positive force.

 

One of my Professors began class explaining that prior to every class he has ever taught he is extremely nervous.  He concluded this sentiment by explaining  that he will retire the day he begins a class without nerves.  The explanation:  The nerves are a sign of understanding the significance and responsibility one undertakes as a Teacher.

 

I like this very much.

 

Also, I believe I am going to tie observations/thoughts and questions from all three of my Education Classes to this Blog.  I am accosted by so very many thoughts and questions during the course of any of the classes and this will be an excellent forum for my own purging, recollection, and self-reflection.

 

Now I will warn you – one of the other classes is Instructional Technology and it will have me delving into the world of Technological Jargon.  Just remember: it is your choice to do the reading!

Leave a Reply

