I Do Believe I Deserve a Cookie

From the early part of January, 2014:

Believe it or not,

there are moments when you are flying

that the fact that you are in a plane tens of thousands of feet above land with absolutely no control

isn’t the only thing you are thinking of.

There are moments that make it

A L L

worth it.  Here are some of those moments:

IMG_2876

Lift off happened early in the morning, but not quite early enough to catch the sunrise like I had hoped!  Still one of my favorite pictures!

IMG_2881 IMG_2885

The cloud cover tried really hard to hide the mountains from me…. but I was determined!!

IMG_2891

At this point in the flight the turbulence was sooooo bad, I kept revolving between two thoughts, the first:

               “OMG.  If this plane goes down – it will be

ALL          MY          FAULT.

I’m the one who just HAD to see the effin’ mountains!”

and

                 “Next time – my carry on is going to consist of a parachute.”

IMG_2900 IMG_2912

Okay, so when I walk into a used bookstore, awe – who am I kidding – when I see a used bookstore I get really excited. I bet that’s what happens to a geologist when they fly and look down to see tributaries and… stuff.

To me – it provided a beautiful distraction from the whole “no control” thing!

IMG_2927 IMG_2933 IMG_2935

Needless to say I was very happy to be home!

I was so happy in fact that I decided I needed to bake:

IMG_3053

Then the storms hit – first snow:

IMG_3127

Then the effin’ cold.

I am pretty certain at one point I felt the road shiver.

IMG_3140

It all kind of made me want to move.

But then again it would be sooooo costly to move all those I love to Hawaii.

Until next time,

~J.Lyn

Leave a Reply

