Miley Cyrus and the Ultimate Mash Up

I’m certain you are getting sick of it.  People are spewing judgement all over facebook and in the harsher cases straight up hatred.

Am I the only one left shaking my head??

First point – and I want to be clear here – this isn’t being written from a parent standpoint.  I don’t let my children stay up past 8pm.  They are not allowed to watch Spongebob much less the VMA’s.    Why?  Because as a parent I long ago made the decision that I am in control of the almighty remote and there are certain (many) shows I do not believe are appropriate for children.

So here I am shaking my head.  Not at Miley, but at everyone else.  

That PERFORMANCE was nothing more than a mash up of the following:

bears         +                 KISS                +

and add in the next step of raunchy female “shock me, shock me, shock me” dancing and undressing (the list is really so long from Madonna to Pink to Brittany to Rihanna to Lady Gaga, I mean really we don’t have time to list them all.But one thing is perfectly clear – we supported them all – the more raunchy they got the more money they made – a fact that Miley Cyrus who has been in the industry for over 8 years is probably very aware of.)   Anywho, add this all up and it

equals   =

Miley Cyrus, MTV Video Music Awards

Don’t you see??  If you are gearing up to point a finger – better find a mirror!!!  We are all to blame for approving of things all the way.  This is the lifestyle mainstream public not only demanded but paid for.

Now as for Miley’s actions… I want you to take a minute.  Think about yourself at 20.  Now, imagine you had money coming out of your ears.  Cameras follow you day and night waiting for you to make a mistake, trip, pick your nose….  and they have been at it for 8 years.

I don’t approve of Miley’s actions, but there are a few things it seems that have slipped our collective minds.

1. What happens on the stage is not real.  It is a production.  It is choreographed for shock value.   (So all of you gasping at the audacity of a young woman dancing up on a married man – Pah lease!!  As if he wasn’t part of setting THAT up!)

2.  I doubt any of us would make much better decisions if plopped into that lifestyle at that age.  

3.  It is the culmination of everything we paid for in the past.

And as all the adults “tsk, tsk”  – all the kids (that the adults are not talking to about this newsworthy feat) are taking note of all the attention paid to that behavior.

One final note,

>>This one is being said in my best Mom voice<<

as I tell my own children:

You are right –  at 18 you are responsible legally for your actions, but that doesn’t mean you stop being responsible to this family for your actions – it just means you answer to both.  I am your Mother forever – not just until society dictates you can answer for yourself.  Parenting is the one job you can not be fired from.   I have 18 years to make you strong enough and smart enough to know that every word you say and every action you take represents this family, this city, this state and this Nation.

I do realize that none of my kids are stars……

yet,

but that wouldn’t change my voice on this issue.

~J.Lyn       😉

 

P.S.  Looking for some Funny??   Click here:

https://creatingjlyn.wordpress.com/2013/07/11/beware-the-shooting-sharks-theyll-leave-you-rant-less/

or here:

https://creatingjlyn.wordpress.com/2013/07/16/16-reasons-not-to-have-sex-daily/

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Miley Cyrus and the Ultimate Mash Up

  1. Everyone has an opinion and to a point I agree yet who cares who acts how or dresses a certain way.. you as a person chose to act that way or dress that way.. .she allready had fame.. and I dont like people based on their raunchy antics .. I also dont see what kiss has to do with this lol everyone knows gene simmons is famous for his tounge extension.. not Miley Cirus.. point being as u said what people do wether on stage or off sets the representation of them and it was sleezy and raunchy!

Leave a Reply

